Slum Village: Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1

Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1

Slum Village

  • US$31.99
    Delivery from US$10.68

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 September 2015
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Ne'astra Music Group

The contributions of the late Detroit producer James DeWitt Yancey –better known to the world as J Dilla- to the world of hip-hop can't be overstated, and nowhere is his legacy more apparent than his work as a member of Slum Village. A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the group's distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. Against the backdrop of Dilla's rich production, T3 and Baatin's free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves have rejected.) It's on Slum Village's 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, that all these elements come together in the most proficient manner. An instant hit among Detroit's underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one cohesive style that was a hit among critics. Fan-Tas-Tic's influence extended far beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of D'Angelo, Erykah Badu, and The Roots just to name a few. (Roots drummer ?uestlove has even declared that: "Hands down this album birthed the neo-soul movement.") Ne'Astra Media Group now presents the album reissued on vinyl, for the first time in several years. Every wobbling bass note of J Dilla's production has been preserved and every freestyle line of T3 and Baatin has been re-created, to maintain the legacy of a late-90s rap classic, and the legend of one of hip-hop's greatest beatsmiths.

Side A
1. Fantastic
2. Keep It On (This Beat)
3. I Don't Know
4. How We Bullshit
5. Fat Cat Song (feat. Phat Kat)
6. The Look Of Love

Side B
1. Estimate
2. Hoc N Pucky
3. Beej N Dem
4. Pregnant
5. Forth & Back
6. Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
7. Fantastic 3 (Interlude)

Side C
1. Keep It On
2. 5 Ela (Remix)
3. Give This Nigga
4. Players
5. Look Of Love (Remix)
6. Pregnant (Remix)

Side D
1. Things U Do (Remix)
2. Fat Cat (Remix)
3. Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
4. What's Love Got To Do With It (Look Of Love Remix)
5. 2 You 4 You