Guru: Jazzmatazz Volume 1

Jazzmatazz Volume 1


  • US$7.99
    Delivery from US$5.99

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 01 April 2013
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album

Guru's Jazzmatazz, Volume 1 is the debut solo studio album from Guru, one half of the hip-hop duo Gang Starr. Released on 18th May, 1993 on Chrysalis Records, this album is one of the first albums to combine a live jazz band with hip hop production and rapping. Live backing is provided by a band that includes Lonnie Liston Smith, Branford Marsalis, Ronny Jordan, Donald Byrd and Roy Ayers. The album also features vocal collaborations with Carleen Anderson, N'Dea Davenport (of the Brand New Heavies) Dee C Lee and French rapper MC Solaar. The variety of guest artists adds diversity and originality to each track, and gives the album a distinct jazz feel.

1 Introduction  
2 Loungin'  
3 When You're Near  
4 Transit Ride  
5 No Time to Play  
6 Down the Backstreets  
7 Respectful Dedications  
8 Take a Look  
9 Trust Me  
10 Slicker Than Most  
11 Le Bien, Le Mal  
12 Sights in the City