Madlib: Shades Of Blue

Shades Of Blue


  • US$36.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 30 June 2017
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl

Shades Of Blue is an unique project that turns over the legacy of the esteemed Blue Note jazz label to one of hip-hop’s most unique artists, Madlib. He is considered to be one of hip-hop’s most inventive visionaries and connects it’s productions through smart lyrics and poetics.

The album opens with the declaration that “We are now having a little cooking session for Blue Note right here on the scene...” Madlib was afforded the opportunity to mine the crates of Blue Note. On Shades of Blue, he delivers remixes and brand spanking new interpretations of Blue Note classics.

Whether funking out Ronnie Foster’s original “Mystic Brew” and transforming it into the “Mystic Bounce,” or giving Wayne Shorter’s “Footprints” a go with Yesterday’s New Quintet, rest assured that Madlib’s innovative sonic vocabulary will fill the ears. Other artists receiving a Madlib reimagination include Donald Byrd, Bobbi Humphrey, Bobby Hutcherson, Horace Silver, The Three Sounds and many more.

Side A
1 Introduction  
2 Slim’s Return  
3 Distant Land  
4 Mystic Bounce  
Side B
1 Stormy  
2 Blue Note Interlude  
3 Please Set Me At Ease  
4 Funky Blue Note  
5 Alfred Lion Interlude  
Side C
1 Sleeping Into Tomorrow  
2 Andrew Hill Break  
3 Montara  
Side D
1 Song For My Father  
2 Footprints  
3 Peace / Dolphin Dance  
4 Outro