D'Angelo And The Vanguard: Black Messiah

Black Messiah

D'Angelo And The Vanguard

  • US$12.99
    Delivery from US$18.93

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 15 December 2014
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album

The Neo soul legend returns with his first studio album in almost 15 years. It features lyrical contributions from Q-Tip and Funkadelic’s Kendra Foster while ?uestlove of the Roots, bassist Pino Palladino and drummer James Gadson play on the album. D’Angelo had this to say about the concept behind Black Messiah: “‘Black Messiah’ is a hell of a name for an album. It can be easily misunderstood. Many will think it’s about religion. Some will jump to the conclusion that I’m calling myself a Black Messiah. For me the title is about all of us. It’s about the world. It’s about an idea we can all aspire to. We should all aspire to be a Black Messiah. It’s about people rising up in Ferguson and in Egypt and in Occupy Wall Street and everyplace where a community has had enough and decides to make change happen. It’s not about praising one charismatic leader but celebrating thousands of them. Not every song on this album is politically charged (though many are) but calling this album Black Messiah creates a landscape where these songs can live to the fullest. Black Messiah is not one man. It’s a feeling that, collectively, we are all that leader.”

1 Ain't That Easy  
2 1000 Deaths  
3 The Charade  
4 Sugah Daddy  
5 Really Love  
6 Back to the Future (Part I)  
7 Till It's Done (Tutu)  
8 Prayer  
9 Betray My Heart  
10 The Door  
11 Back to the Future (Part II)  
12 Another Life