Lords Of The Underground : Here Come The Lords

Here Come The Lords

Lords Of The Underground

  • US$36.99
    Delivery from US$11.91

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 26 January 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl

Lords Of The Underground (L.O.T.U.G.) is a hip-hop trio consisting of Newark, New Jersey's MC's Mr. Funke, Dupré "Doitall" Kelly and Cleveland-native DJ Lord Jazz who met while still at University.

lntroduced by a friend they hooked up with legendary producer and radio personality Marley Marl, and with him and K-Def, laid the basis for their 1993 debut album Here Come The Lords, which celebrates its 25th Anniversary in 2018. Although their name might suggest violent gangsta rap, Lords Of The Underground match socially conscious raps with funky drum breaks, samples and hard hitting beats.

Their first singles "Psycho", "Funky Child" and the #1 Hip-Hop hit single, the group's signature song, "Chief Rocka" were all featured on the first album which reached #16 on the Billboard R&B chart and went to #66 on the Billboard 200 album chart. By the end of 1993, Lords Of The Underground received an award from BET as best rap group of the year, "Chief Rocka" became the group's most successful single and the line "l live for the funk, l die for the funk" was sampled by The Notorious B.I.G.

1 Here Come The Lords  
2 From Da Bricks  
3 Funky Child  
1 Keep lt Underground  
2 Check lt (Remix)  
3 Grave Digga  
4 Lords Prayer  
1 Flow On (New Symphony)  
2 Madd Skillz  
3 Psycho  
4 Chief Rocka  
1 Sleep For Dinner (Remix)  
2 L.O.T.U.G. (Lords Of The Underground)  
3 Lord Jazz Hit Me One Time (Make It Funky)  
4 What's Goin' On