Frank Ocean: channel Orange

channel Orange

Frank Ocean

  • US$8.99
    Delivery from US$5.50

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 July 2012
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album

The lushly produced songs on 'channel orange' are connected by tape-damaged interludes of dialogue and sound effects and warped snippets of tracks, giving things an intimate, homemade scope and feel. The record begins with an upgraded version of 'Thinking About You' (now with gorgeous strings), and also features previously-heard tracks 'Forrest Gump', 'Pyramids', and 'Super Rich Kids'. a distorted version of the tumblr-leaked track 'Voodoo' could be heard underneath the album's outro. Elsewhere, Ocean offers left turn after left turn, from psychedelic soul a la Sly Stone, to D'angelo-style, keyboard-based r&b, to a politically-charged track delivered over a nimble beat reminiscent of a tribe called quest, to something akin to a spaced-out epic rock ballad in which a conversation with a cabbie inspires ocean to ponder some of life's big questions. Needless to say, this is not your typical major-label R&B record. So when Andre 3000 showed up to offer some guest rapping and singing near the end of the album, it made a hell of a lot of sense.

1 Start  
2 Thinkin Bout You  
3 Fertilizer  
4 Sierra Leone  
5 Sweet Life  
6 Not Just Money  
7 Super Rich Kids (Feat. Earl Sweatshirt)  
8 Pilot Jones  
9 Crack Rock  
10 Pyramids  
11 Lost  
12 White (Feat. John Mayer)  
13 Monks  
14 Bad Religion  
15 Pink Matter (Feat. Andre 3000)  
16 Forrest Gump  
17 End/Golden Girl (Feat. Tyler, the Creator)